Member State report / Art11 / 2020 / Ireland / NE Atlantic: Celtic Seas - Overview

Report type Member State report to Commission
MSFD Article Art. 11 Monitoring programmes (and Art. 17 updates)
Report due 2020-10-15
Member State Ireland
Reported by Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government
Report date 2021-12-08
Report access

Competent Authority responsible for monitoring
Department of Housing Planning and Local Government
Responsible organisations
  • Bord Iascaigh Mhara (BIM)
  • Department of Agriculture, Food and Marine (DAFM)
  • Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment (DCCAE);
  • Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government (DHPLG) including National Parks and Wildlife Service (NPWS);
  • Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport – Irish Coast Guard (DTTAS-ICG);
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • Food Safety Authority of Ireland (FSAI)
  • Galway-Mayo Institute of Technology (GMIT)
  • Inland Fisheries Ireland (IFI)
  • Marine Institute (MI)
  • National Biodiversity Data Centre (NBDC)
  • National University of Ireland, Galway, (NUIG),
Relationship to CA
These organisiations are other government departments, semi-state agencies, and national universities.
Public consultation dates
2021/10/02 - 2021/11/30
Public consultation site
Regional cooperation
Ireland cooperates with other countries of the North East Atlantic through the Regional Sea Conventions (OSPAR), and the BONN Agreement.